Fandom

NWN2Wiki

Spontaneous casting

3,791pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

NWN2 Spontaneous ConversionEdit

The Spontaneous Conversion feat is automatically obtained by both Clerics and Druids but functions quite differently for the two classes. Additionally, the feat functions differently between clerics depending upon the alignment of their diety.

Description (Cleric): You can convert any memorized cleric spell into a cure wounds spell (if good or neutral alignment) or an inflict wounds spell (if evil).

Description (Druid): You can convert any memorized druid spell into a summon creature spell.

ClericsEdit

A Cleric can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that the Cleric did not prepare ahead of time. The Cleric can "lose" any prepared spell in order to cast any cure wounds spell of the same spell level.

  • Unlike DnD 3.5, NWN2 permits spell slots used to prepare domain spells to be used for spontaneous casting.
  • A good or neutral Cleric can spontaneously cast any cure spell.
  • An evil Cleric can spontaneously cast any inflict spell.
  • In NWN2, a Cleric who is neither good nor evil and whose deity is neither good nor evil can convert spells to cure spells only. This is different from DnD 3.5 rules that permit a choice.

DruidsEdit

A Druid can channel stored spell energy into summon creature spells that the Druid did not prepare ahead of time. The Druid can "lose" any prepared spell in order to cast any summon creature spell of the same spell level.

  • Essentially, this is identical to the DnD 3.5 rules on this ability. However, since NWN2 uses summon creature spells instead of summon nature's ally spells, the choice of summons is restricted to a single animal type (a limitation of the summon creature spells).

3.5e ComparisonEdit

A character with spontaneous casting can "lose" a spell they've prepared in exchange for casting a specific spell of the same level or lower.

  • A good Cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that the cleric did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not a domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name).
  • An evil Cleric (or a neutral cleric of an evil deity), can’t convert prepared spells to cure spells but can convert them to inflict spells (an inflict spell is one with “inflict” in its name).
  • A Cleric who is neither good nor evil and whose deity is neither good nor evil can convert spells to either cure spells or inflict spells (player’s choice). Once the player makes this choice, it cannot be reversed. This choice also determines whether the cleric turns or commands undead (see below).
  • A Druid can channel stored spell energy into summoning spells that she hasn’t prepared ahead of time. She can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any summon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.